O que é o Glúten?

What is Gluten?

What is gluten?

Gluten is the protein fraction present in wheat that includes two types of proteins: prolamins and glutenins. These proteins provide the characteristic elasticity and viscosity properties of wheat flour. (1)

Where are you located?

These proteins, found in addition to wheat, rye, barley, spelt, Khorasan or kamut wheat, and strains derived from these cereals, trigger an immune reaction in celiacs. Oats contain low amounts of avenin, which is a prolamin-type protein, to which some celiacs are sensitive, and their tolerance should be evaluated by the doctor or nutritionist who accompanies the patient. However, oats are commonly contaminated with other gluten-containing cereals during the growing and harvesting processes, so care should be taken when choosing gluten-free oats, if tolerated. (two)

These cereals can be used in the most varied food products, so it is important to read the labels for those who have to avoid them.

gluten free diet

In addition to celiac disease, other gluten-related disorders are increasingly common. The pathologies have specific characteristics and means of diagnosis that allow their differentiation, so in case of suspicion of symptoms related to gluten ingestion, a doctor should be consulted before starting any type of diet or treatment. Completely eliminating gluten from the diet before medical diagnosis can make diagnosis difficult and lead to false negatives, so it is not recommended.

Despite their differences, the common treatment of these pathologies, after diagnosis, consists of excluding foods that contain gluten from the diet. Such a diet should be strict in the case of celiac disease and wheat allergy, due to the serious consequences they can cause.

In patients with non-celiac gluten sensitivity, dietary gluten restriction is also recommended to obtain symptomatic relief, and each patient's level of tolerance to trace amounts of gluten should be evaluated by the accompanying healthcare professional. (1)

Fidu's products do not contain wheat or gluten-containing cereals. We also do not handle any ingredient in our facilities that may be contaminated with these cereals. In this way, we guarantee that there is no cross-contamination by traces and that our products are safe even for the most sensitive.

(1) Vaquero, Luis, Alvarez-Cuenllas, Begoña, Rodríguez-Martín, Laura, Aparicio, Marta, Jorquera, Francisco, Olcoz, José Luis, & Vivas, Santiago, 2015. Review of pathologies related to gluten intake. Nutrición Hospitalaria, 31(6), 2359-2371.

(2) NDA, 2016. Scientific Opinion on the evaluation of allergenic foods and food ingredients for labeling purposes. EFSA Journal, 12(11).